Archive for October 23, 2009

Album Review – Landon Pigg’s ‘The Boy Who Never’

October 23, 2009 1 comment

I didn’t buy Landon Pigg’s ‘The Boy Who Never’ – I only knew of his song ‘Falling In Love At A Coffee Shop’ because of the AT & T commercial. Anyway, the album was gifted to me by my cousin who saw Landon Pigg in that movie “Whip It” and is now a Landon Pigg stan. She iTunes gifted me the album in hopes of converting me to the cause, since as she put it – ‘He’s so cuuuuute!’ [insert eyeroll here] There’s a stan for you. Anyway, I’m not one to turn down anything free (especially since I’m broke right now), so thank you, cuz!

As I’ve said, the only song of Landon Pigg I was familiar with was ‘Falling In Love At A Coffee Shop’. There’s a reason that song was picked for a commercial and that’s because it’s a perfectly charming, sentimental and infectious love song. You can’t beat the lines “I think that possibly maybe I’m falling for you” – anybody who’s ever been a confused teen-ager with a crush could possibly not identify with that.

‘The Boy Who Never’ features a couple of songs I’d have plunked down money for (if I had money still) – I really liked ‘A Ghost‘, ‘Falling In Love At A Coffee Shop‘, ‘Made for Glory‘ and ‘Speak to the Keys‘. I found these songs very mellow and easy-listening and it helped that they had ‘catchy‘ melodies. Not to mention I really liked how the stringed instruments were worked into the songs.

You know how you listen to certain albums, and you go – perfect for the beach! perfect for a party! perfect for… Well, this album is perfect for lying back on your backyard, maybe on a porch swing, relaxing while sipping a hot chocolate on a fall day. While watching multi-colored leaves floating down. Just perfect.

Okay, many of Landon Pigg’s songs are a touch nutella-sweet, but he manages to pull them off and as I’ve said, they sound very charming and smooth to the ears. The tracks I ultimately liked best had a ‘poppish-folk’ bent and seemed like a throw-back to the 60s. Throw in a bit of introspection. Maybe Pigg was listening to a lot of the Beatles (and the like) when he was writing the album?

The other tracks on the album really weren’t that memorable for me – exceptions are ‘Take a Chance‘ which is kinda boy-bandy and the ballad ‘Look So Tired‘ which on second thought may just need some repeat listening before I start to really like it. But for now, those are the songs I would have downloaded if I were on a singles-buying-spree. Would I buy the entire album outright? My answer is yes, but only because it makes more economic sense to buy the whole thing at $7.99 than buy each song I liked ($1.29 each).

Listen to ‘Falling In Love At A Coffee Shop’ and ‘A Ghost’

The Boy Who Never is available on Amazon ($9.49 for the CD). It is also available as an MP3 album on Amazon ($7.99) and iTunes ($7.99).

If you enjoyed this post, get free updates by RSS Or by Email. [tweetmeme source=”randomizemeWP” only_single=false


FREE MP3 Download – “Child Of The Night” by Trans-Siberian Orchestra

October 23, 2009 Leave a comment

Trans-Siberian Orchestra is offering a FREE download of their new song “Child Of The Night” off their new album ‘Night Castle‘ (which is for release on October 26, 2009).

* Note that free download must be redeemed by 12/31/09

Click here to download the track! You’ll have to give up your spam-ready e-mail address. (Direct DL link)

Product Description:

Five years since their last release, Trans-Siberian Orchestra return with a double album of all new material, entitled ‘Nightcastle’. ‘Nightcastle’ is the Capra- esque story of someone changing their life for the better. The physical version of the album includes a 68 full color illustrated booklet.

If you enjoyed this post, get free updates by RSS Or by Email

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Email to a friend


FREE iPhone App – WhatsApp Messenger

October 23, 2009 11 comments

For a limited time, we can download the ‘WhatsApp Messenger’ (an iPhone-2-iPhone Messaging app) for FREE from AppShopper. Click here to download!

Application Description:

Want to message your friends and contacts for free? WhatsApp is not another IM or free SMS app. WhatsApp is a direct iPhone-2-iPhone chat application with instant push notifications. WhatsApp Messenger provides iPhone users with the familiar look-and-feel of desktop instant messaging programs, right on their iPhone.

* NO MONTHLY COST. Once you have the application, you can use it to chat as much as you want. Send a million messages a day to your friends for free!

* NO INTERNATIONAL CHARGES. Chat with your friends in other countries if they have iPhone and WhatsApp installed. Avoid those pesky international SMS costs.

* NO PINS OR USERNAMES. Why even bother having to remember yet another PIN or username? WhatsApp works just like SMS would work (via phone numbers) and it integrates with your phone address book.

* NO NEED TO LOG IN/OUT. No more confusion about getting logged off from another computer or device. With push notifications WhatsApp is ALWAYS ON and ALWAYS connected.

* NO NEED TO ADD BUDDIES. Your Address Book is used to automatically connect you with your contacts. Your friends with WhatsApp will be automatically displayed in Favorites similar to a buddy list.

* OFFLINE MESSAGES. Even if you miss your push notifications, WhatsApp will save your messages offline until you retrieve them during next application start.

* STATUS. Use the status feature of WhatsApp to tell your contacts if you are busy or available for a chat and more. You can even get notified via push notifications when your friends and contacts change their mobile status.

If you enjoyed this post, get free updates by RSS Or by Email


FREE PC Game Download – Little Shop – Road Trip

October 23, 2009 1 comment

Game Details:

  • Two Game Modes
  • 16 Mini-Game Bonus Rounds
  • 80 Levels of Replayable Gameplay
  • 16 Blitz Mode Games
  • Hidden Hints and Creative Power-Ups
  • Immersive Sound Effects

Set off on the road to fun with this all-new hidden object adventure from the creators of the popular Little Shop of Treasures series. Time to take a break from running your shops! Hit the road and search stunning scenes from Seattle to South Beach on your quest to collect rare and exclusive items for your Little Shops back home. Complete 16 challenging road trips and unlock new bonus rounds and Blitz modes. Featuring two great game modes, thousands of cleverly hidden objects, over 100 levels of original gameplay, and miles and miles of family fun, Little Shop – Road Trip is an incredible journey of breathtaking sights. Grab the keys to success today!

Here’s how to get ‘Little Shop – Road Trip’ for FREE from GameHouse.Com:

  • Click HERE
  • Click on the button for BUY NOW (Purchase the full unlimited version).
  • Use this Coupon Code: FREE_LITTLESHOP09 and start downloading!

If you enjoyed this post, get free updates by RSS Or by Email


%d bloggers like this: