Home > Book, Book Review, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult > Book Review – I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: The Fallen Legacies by Pittacus Lore

Book Review – I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: The Fallen Legacies by Pittacus Lore

Book Description:

Before Number Four, there were One, Two, and Three. Until now we’ve only known that the Mogadorians caught Number One in Malaysia. Number Two in England. And Number Three in Kenya. But all of that is about to change. . . .

In I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: The Fallen Legacies, you’ll learn the true story behind these ill-fated members of the Garde. Before they were murdered by the Mogadorians, before Number Four was next, they were all just kids on an alien planet called Earth—discovering their powers, trying to stay hidden, and running for their lives.

About the Author:
Pittacus Lore is Lorien’s ruling Elder. He has been on Earth for the last twelve years, preparing for the war that will decide Earth’s fate. His whereabouts are unknown.


I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: The Fallen Legacies by Pittacus Lore is the latest released prequel novella in the YA SciFi/action series I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies) . Now I’ve been pretty critical before, but this one I really enjoyed (and can actually recommend). I still think it’s overpriced at $3.99 (given how short it is), but if you are a fan of the series, I think this one may be required reading (unless an abbreviated version appears in the next book The Rise of Nine). Unlike the previous prequels, The Fallen Legacies actually offers new information and insight on not only the Loric Garde, but their mortal enemies, the Mogadorians (who have apparently been secretly living the high life on Earth all along without anyone noticing them).

Given how the previous prequels (Six’s Legacy and Nine’s Legacy) were written, I had expected this one to also be a straightforward first person POV retelling of the (extremely short) life stories of Numbers One, Two and Three – like an anthology of three short stories maybe. Thankfully, whoever’s ghost writing this latest installment got a little creative.

The Fallen Legacies is narrated instead by… a teenage Mogadorian named Adamus Sutekh (nickname: Adam) who’s a true born son of one of the Mogadorian generals out hunting for the Garde. I thought it was really refreshing to get a different perspective from the I Am Number Four universe, and I liked the peek into Mogadorian life that Adam provides us. Short version – if you’re a sensitive kind of guy, it really sucks to grow up Mogadorian.

We first meet Adam as an obnoxiously smug thirteen-year-old (but then, who wouldn’t be, given the way he was brainwashed – er, reared), but during an experiment in mind-melding, young Adam is unexpectedly forced into reliving the memories of Number One. This experience changes Adam’s worldview drastically, and he is a very different guy at the end – when the novella abruptly (and frustratingly) ends on a cliffhanger.

Adam is the first boy character from the I Am Number Four series who I found to be genuinely likeable and admirable. And I really, really hope that he plays a big part in the soon to be released full length novel The Rise of Nine (Lorien Legacies) out August 21.

I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: The Fallen Legacies by Pittacus Lore is available on Amazon as a Kindle Edition ($3.99).

You can also get the ebook at the Apple iBookstore.

If you enjoyed this post, get free updates by RSS Or by Email. [tweetmeme source=”randomizemeWP” only_single=false https://randomizeme.wordpress.com%5D

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: