Advertisements

Archive

Posts Tagged ‘kindle-Biographies-Memoirs-daily-deal’

Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher by Timothy Egan @nytegan for $1.99! @HMHCo @HMHbooks #Kindle #Biographies & #Memoirs Daily #Deal!

April 22, 2017 Leave a comment

I like this new promo by Amazon! We get a special Kindle Biographies & Memoirs Daily Deal! And the new deal is…

Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis by Timothy Egan

Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis‘ by Timothy Egan (Mariner Books/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) is available at the specially discounted price of $1.99 on the US Kindle site.

Book Description

“A vivid exploration of one man’s lifelong obsession with an idea . . . Egan’s spirited biography might just bring [Curtis] the recognition that eluded him in life.” — Washington Post

Edward Curtis was charismatic, handsome, a passionate mountaineer, and a famous portrait photographer, the Annie Leibovitz of his time. He moved in rarefied circles, a friend to presidents, vaudeville stars, leading thinkers. But when he was thirty-two years old, in 1900, he gave it all up to pursue his Great Idea: to capture on film the continent’s original inhabitants before the old ways disappeared.

Curtis spent the next three decades documenting the stories and rituals of more than eighty North American tribes. It took tremendous perseverance — ten years alone to persuade the Hopi to allow him to observe their Snake Dance ceremony. And the undertaking changed him profoundly, from detached observer to outraged advocate. Curtis would amass more than 40,000 photographs and 10,000 audio recordings, and he is credited with making the first narrative documentary film. In the process, the charming rogue with the grade school education created the most definitive archive of the American Indian.

*

Advertisements

Lincoln’s Melancholy by Joshua Wolf Shenk @joshuawolfshenk for $1.99! @HMHbooks #Kindle #Biographies & #Memoirs Daily #Deal!

April 22, 2017 Leave a comment

I like this new promo by Amazon! We get a special Kindle Biographies & Memoirs Daily Deal! And the new deal is…

Lincoln's Melancholy: How Depression Challenged a President and Fueled His Greatness by Joshua Wolf Shenk

Lincoln’s Melancholy: How Depression Challenged a President and Fueled His Greatness‘ by Joshua Wolf Shenk (Mariner Books/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) is available at the specially discounted price of $0.99 on the US Kindle site.

Book Description

Drawing on seven years of his own research and the work of other esteemed Lincoln scholars, Shenk reveals how the sixteenth president harnessed his depression to fuel his astonishing success.

Lincoln found the solace and tactics he needed to deal with the nation’s worst crisis in the “coping strategies” he had developed over a lifetime of persevering through depressive episodes and personal tragedies.

With empathy and authority gained from his own experience with depression, Shenk crafts a nuanced, revelatory account of Lincoln and his legacy. Based on careful, intrepid research, Lincoln’s Melancholy unveils a wholly new perspective on how our greatest president brought America through its greatest turmoil.

Shenk relates Lincoln’s symptoms, including mood swings and at least two major breakdowns, and offers compelling evidence of the evolution of his disease, from “major depression” in his twenties and thirties to “chronic depression” later on. Shenk reveals the treatments Lincoln endured and his efforts to come to terms with his melancholy, including a poem he published on suicide and his unpublished writings on the value of personal—and national—suffering. By consciously shifting his goal away from personal contentment (which he realized he could not attain) and toward universal justice, Lincoln gained the strength and insight that he, and America, required to transcend profound darkness.

*

Someone Will Be with You Shortly by Lisa Kogan @LisaKogan for $0.99! @HarperCollins #Kindle #Biographies & #Memoirs Daily #Deal! #Essays

January 17, 2017 Leave a comment

I like this new promo by Amazon! We get a special Kindle Biographies & Memoirs Daily Deal! And the new deal is…

Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life by Lisa Kogan

Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life‘ by Lisa Kogan (HarperCollins) is available at the specially discounted price of $0.99 on the US Kindle site. Also on Amazon CA.

Book Description

“[Kogan’s] wry observations of everyday life will hearten you on your worst days, validate you on your best, and make you laugh any day at all.” — Martha Beck, author of Expecting Adam and Finding Your Own North Star

Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a delectable blend of wit, whimsy, pith, and poignancy. If David Sedaris were a girl… this is the book he’d write.” — Evan Handler, author of It’s Only Temporary

Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a collection of the hilarious and poignant essays from beloved O Magazine columnist Lisa Kogan. Writing in the vein of Nora Ephron, Kogan has been called “the Erma Bombeck of our generation” (Kelly Corrigan, author of The Middle Place and Lift). In Someone Will Be with You Shortly, she brings her trademark humor to such real-life quandaries as single motherhood, aging, and sex.

*

%d bloggers like this: