Advertisements

Archive

Posts Tagged ‘kindle-Biographies-Memoirs-daily-deal’

Someone Will Be with You Shortly by Lisa Kogan @LisaKogan for $0.99! @HarperCollins #Kindle #Biographies & #Memoirs Daily #Deal! #Essays

January 17, 2017 Leave a comment

I like this new promo by Amazon! We get a special Kindle Biographies & Memoirs Daily Deal! And the new deal is…

Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life by Lisa Kogan

Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life‘ by Lisa Kogan (HarperCollins) is available at the specially discounted price of $0.99 on the US Kindle site. Also on Amazon CA.

Book Description

“[Kogan’s] wry observations of everyday life will hearten you on your worst days, validate you on your best, and make you laugh any day at all.” — Martha Beck, author of Expecting Adam and Finding Your Own North Star

Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a delectable blend of wit, whimsy, pith, and poignancy. If David Sedaris were a girl… this is the book he’d write.” — Evan Handler, author of It’s Only Temporary

Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a collection of the hilarious and poignant essays from beloved O Magazine columnist Lisa Kogan. Writing in the vein of Nora Ephron, Kogan has been called “the Erma Bombeck of our generation” (Kelly Corrigan, author of The Middle Place and Lift). In Someone Will Be with You Shortly, she brings her trademark humor to such real-life quandaries as single motherhood, aging, and sex.

*

Advertisements

Walden on Wheels by Ken Ilgunas @KenIlgunas for $1.99! #Kindle #Biographies & #Memoirs Daily #Deal!

September 3, 2016 Leave a comment

I like this new promo by Amazon! We get a special Kindle Biographies & Memoirs Daily Deal! And the new deal is…

Walden on Wheels: On the Open Road from Debt to Freedom by Ken Ilgunas

Walden on Wheels: On the Open Road from Debt to Freedom‘ by Ken Ilgunas (Amazon) is available at the specially discounted price of $1.99 on the US Kindle site. Also on Amazon CA.

Kindle unlimited with narration: Read and listen to this title for free and get unlimited access to over 1 million titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device.

Add Audible narration to your purchase for just $1.99

Book Description

In this frank and witty memoir, Ken Ilgunas lays bare the existential terror of graduating from the University of Buffalo with $32,000 of student debt. Ilgunas set himself an ambitious mission: get out of debt as quickly as possible. Inspired by the frugality and philosophy of Henry David Thoreau, Ilgunas undertook a 3-year transcontinental journey, working in Alaska as a tour guide, garbage picker, and night cook to pay off his student loans before hitchhiking home to New York.

Debt-free, Ilgunas then enrolled in a master’s program at Duke University, determined not to borrow against his future again. He used the last of his savings to buy himself a used Econoline van and outfitted it as his new dorm. The van, stationed in a campus parking lot, would be more than an adventure—it would be his very own “Walden on Wheels.”

Freezing winters, near-discovery by campus police, and the constant challenge of living in a confined space would test Ilgunas’s limits and resolve in the two years that fol¬lowed. What had begun as a simple mission would become an enlightening and life-changing social experiment. Walden on Wheels offers a spirited and pointed perspective on the dilemma faced by those who seek an education but who also want to, as Thoreau wrote, “live deep and suck out all the marrow of life.”

*

West with the Night by Beryl Markham for $1.99! @OpenRoadMedia #Kindle #Biographies & #Memoirs Daily #Deal!

September 2, 2016 Leave a comment

I like this new promo by Amazon! We get a special Kindle Biographies & Memoirs Daily Deal! And the new deal is…

West with the Night by Beryl Markham

West with the Night‘ by Beryl Markham (Open Road Media) is available at the specially discounted price of $1.99 on the US Kindle site. Also on Amazon CA.

Add Audible narration to your purchase for just $3.99

Book Description

Beryl Markham’s classic, engrossing memoir—a triumph of the pioneer spirit and an adventure-charged chronicle of a life lived to the fullest

Beryl Markham’s life was a true epic, complete with shattered societal expectations, torrid love affairs, and desperate crash landings. A rebel from a young age, the British-born Markham was raised in Kenya’s unforgiving farmlands. She learned to be a bush pilot at a time when most Africans had never seen a plane. In 1936, she accepted the ultimate challenge: to fly solo across the Atlantic from east to west, a feat that fellow female aviator Amelia Earhart had completed in reverse just a few years before. Her successes and her failures—and her deep, lifelong love of the “soul of Africa”—are all chronicled here with wrenching honesty and agile wit.

The basis for Paula McLain’s bestselling novel Circling the Sun, West with the Night is “one of the greatest adventure books of all time” (National Geographic).

*

%d bloggers like this: